Today: Jul 13 , 2020

Arizona Minimum Wage Goes Up to $11 an Hour

05 January 2019   Leah Clickavage

Arizona minimum wages are going up, but there are some exceptions.

ARIZONA @ WORK-Yavapai County would like to remind all employers and interested parties that in accordance with Arizona’s Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act, the State of Arizona’s minimum wage increased to $11.00 per hour on January 1, 2019.

Arizona’s Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act applies to all employees, with the following exceptions:

  • A person who is employed by a parent or a sibling;
  • A person who is employed performing babysitting services in the employer’s home on a casual basis;
  • Any person employed by the State of Arizona; however, political subdivisions of this state would be required to comply with the state minimum wage law;
  • Any person employed by the United States government;
  • Any person employed in a small business grossing less than $500,000 in annual revenue, if that small business is not covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act; and
  • Employees who regularly receive tips and who are otherwise exempt under federal minimum wage laws. For any employee who customarily and regularly receives tips or gratuities, an employer may pay a wage up to $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage. NOTE: The Federal minimum wage remains $7.25 per hour.

If you would like more information or have questions, feel free to reach out to NACOG at 928-778-1422.