Today: Jun 01 , 2020

Tanner Dodt to Represent Yavapai County for 3rd Year in a Row

20 March 2017  
Tanner Dodt also won the Yavapai County Spelling Bee in 2016.

A homeschooled student will represent Yavapai County.

Tanner Dodt, a 7th grader from Heritage Christian Home Educators in Prescott Valley is headed to the Arizona State Spelling Bee. Again.

For the 71st Annual Yavapai County Spelling Bee, Dodt went the distance for 42 rounds, finally spelling ‘euthanasia’ for the win, according to the Verde Independent. In all, 35 students participated in the bee, representing district schools, charter schools, private schools and home school groups.

In a press release after the local spelling bee, County Superintendent Tim Carter issued his congratulations to Dodt, and also noted, “We would also like to recognize the accomplishments of Lazor Lanson, a 6th grader at Sedona Charter School as the runner up, Naina Misra, a 8th grader at Bagdad Middle School who finished 3rd and Toni Ann Harris, a 4th grader at Abia Judd Elementary who finished 4th.

Dodt is representing Yavapai County for the 3rd year in a row. He was also the finalist in the 2015 and 2016 Spelling Bees.

Dodt will participate in the Arizona State Spelling Bee on Saturday, March 25 in the Arizona PBS studios at the downtown Arizona State University Phoenix campus. The winner of the Arizona competition will advance to the 90th Annual Scripps National Spelling Bee in National Harbor, Maryland on May 28th-June 3, 2017. Winners compete for a cash prize as well as the Scripps National Spelling Bee trophy. In 2016, two students were crowned as co-champions.

Here is the press release sent from the Arizona Educational Foundation:

2017 Arizona State Spelling Bee is Saturday

The state's top 27 spellers, ranging in age from 9-14, are days away from competing in the 2017 Arizona State Spelling Bee. 

This year's annual Arizona State Spelling Bee will be held this Saturday, March 25, 2017 at 1:00pm in the Arizona PBS studios on the downtown Phoenix campus of Arizona State University. This is the 19th year the event is being sponsored by the Arizona Educational Foundation (AEF), a statewide non-profit organization based in Scottsdale, Arizona. 

2017 Spelling Bee Competitors

  • Apache County: Kameryn Greer, St. Johns Middle School, St. Johns
  • Cochise County: Emma Nguyen, Town and Country Elementary School, Sierra Vista
  • Coconino County: Katrina Vollmer, San Francisco de Asis Catholic School, Flagstaff
  • Gila County: Dennis Davis, Lee Kornegay Intermediate School, Miami
  • Graham County: Maria Dannenbrink, Triumphant Learning Center, Safford
  • Greenlee County: Isabella Campbell, Metcalf Elementary School, Morenci
  • La Paz County: Jonathon Beckett, Quartzsite Elementary School, Quartzsite
  • Maricopa Region 1: Aviél Martínez-Mason, Gililland Middle School, Tempe
  • Maricopa Region 1: Audrey Wood, St. John Bosco Catholic School, Phoenix
  • Maricopa Region 2: Angelina Mann, Explorer Middle School, Phoenix
  • Maricopa Region 2: Nicola Ferguson, Sunrise Middle School, Scottsdale
  • Maricopa Region 3: Layla Torres, Augustus H. Shaw Montessori School, Phoenix
  • Maricopa Region 3: Lindsay Davis, Vista del Sur Accelerated Academy, Laveen
  • Maricopa Region 4: Iscent George, Legacy Traditional School, Glendale
  • Maricopa Region 4: Sarah Samuel, Sunset Heights Elementary School, Peoria
  • Maricopa Region 5: Ayla Dunton, Homeschoolers 4 Him, Tolleson
  • Maricopa Region 5: Abby Noel, Legacy Traditional School, Avondale
  • Maricopa Region 6: Adelyn Dao, Desert Ridge Junior High School, Mesa
  • Maricopa Region 6: Penda Ba, Sossaman Middle School, Queen Creek
  • Mohave County: Maggie Jensen, Yucca Elementary School, Yucca
  • Navajo County: Jett Jue, Bonnie Brennan Elementary, Winslow
  • Pima County 1: Nihal Josyula, BASIS Tucson - Primary, Tucson
  • Pima County 2: Jillian Smith, Esperero Canyon Middle School, Tucson
  • Pinal County: Betzaida Molina, Villago Middle School, Casa Grande
  • Santa Cruz County: John Ferdinand Tatil II, Lourdes Catholic School, Nogales
  • Yavapai County: Tanner Dodt, Heritage Christian Home Educators, Prescott Valley
  • Yuma County: Spandan Gandhi, San Luis Middle School, San Luis

The bee is open to the public and will begin at 1 p.m. in the Arizona PBS studios on the sixth floor of the Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication located on the ASU Downtown Phoenix campus, 555 N. Central Ave. Thirteen counties are each represented by one contestant. Pima County is represented by two and Maricopa County is represented by 12.

The road leading up to the Arizona State Spelling Bee began in December when schools throughout the state held qualifying bees. Winners progressed to district bees in January and then county and regional bees in February.

The winner of the Arizona State Spelling Bee will represent Arizona in the 90th Annual Scripps National Spelling Bee in late May outside Washington, D.C. in National Harbor, Maryland. Other details about the program are noted here.

Lynne LaMaster

Lynne LaMaster is the Founder of the eNewsAZ Network of websites. She will be leaving for new adventures on May 15, 2020.