Today: Jun 06 , 2020

Greg Mengarelli to Run For Prescott Mayor

06 April 2017  
Greg Mengarelli has taken out a packet to run for Mayor in the City of Prescott.

And then there were three. Three candidates for Mayor, that is.

Greg Mengarelli has picked up a packet to run for Mayor, according to Dana DeLong, Prescott’s City Clerk.

Mengarelli is currently the President of the Prescott Unified School District Governing Board. He first ran for PUSD School Board in 2014, where he won one of two open seats in a 4-way race with 26% of the vote. (Maureen Erickson won the second seat with 33% of the vote; John Lamerson and David Stringer were defeated.)

Mengarelli will be running against Mary Beth Hrin and Jean Wilcox, who also have indicated their intentions to run for Mayor. Wilcox has been on Council since 2013, Hrin has never held an elected office.

Council Candidates

There are also three open seats for City Council. The current list of candidates for Council include:

  • Steve Blair (incumbent)
  • Connie Cantelme
  • Greg Lazzell (incumbent)
  • Michael Broggie
  • Phil Goode
  • Joe Viccica
  • Rick LeBlang

Candidates have until May 31 to turn in petition signatures. They need a minimum of 718 valid signatures, but the Clerk’s office can accept up to a maximum of 1435. Candidates must be a resident of of the City of Prescott for at least one year, and be registered to vote.

In addition to the candidates for Mayor and Council, there are two propositions on the ballot. Prop 442 is an extension of the Alternative Expenditure Limitation for the City of Prescott. Prop 443 asks if a 3/4¢ transaction privilege tax shall be adopted, with the revenues solely dedicated to paying down the City’s unfunded liabilities for the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System.

Registered PACs

Two Political Action Committees (PAC) have been formed regarding Prop 443:

  • Stand for Prescott, Vote Yes on 443, Chairperson Cecelia Jernegan; Treasurer: Ann Brechwaldt
  • No on Proposition 443 - Chairperson John Lamerson; Treasurer is John Stevens
Lynne LaMaster

Lynne LaMaster is the Founder of the eNewsAZ Network of websites. She will be leaving for new adventures on May 15, 2020.