Today: Jul 07 , 2020

PAL Announces Youth Leaders of the Year, Awards Scholarships

08 April 2020   James Holt
Madison Jackson, l; Aaron Gordon, r.

Youth Leaders of the Year Awarded Scholarships

Prescott AZ— Tuesday April 8, 2020 — The 2020 Prescott Area Leadership (PAL) Youth Leaders of the Year were announced today. Six area Youth Leaders were recognized with scholarships for their outstanding contributions to the community. 

Aaron Gordon of Prescott Valley was the male 2020 Youth Leader of the Year and was awarded a $2,000 scholarship. Jacob Packer of Prescott Valley and Ethan Morse of Chino Valley were the male runners-up for Youth Leader and were each awarded a $500 scholarship.  

Ethan Morse

 Jacob Packer

Madison Jackson of Prescott was the female 2020 Youth Leader of the Year and was awarded a $2,000 scholarship. Nicole Babbitt of Prescott Valley and Erin Kennedy of Prescott were the female runners-up for Youth Leader and were each awarded a $500 scholarship.  

Nicole Babbitt

Erin Kennedy

These young people exemplify outstanding servant leadership throughout the community. For example Mr. Gordon has embodied these service ideals through his commitments to the Link Leader Mentorship Program; leadership in Mu Alpha Theta, the United States mathematics honor society; Educator and Counselor as a Naturalist Intern at the Highlands Center for Natural History; and as Logistics Support Assistant for the Arizona Wildlife and Incident Management Academy, to name just a few. 

Aaron Gordon

Ms. Jackson has demonstrated these ideals of servant leadership through her service to others less fortunate working with Meals on Wheels, Salvation Army, AZ Burn Foundation’s Burn Camp, Special Olympics, reading to grade school children, entertaining senior adults.

Madison Jackson

The selection of the Youth Leaders of the Year was to have taken place at the PAL 2020 Man, Woman, Youth Leaders of the Year awards banquet on April 7, 2020.  Like so many other programs, the April event was cancelled due to health and safety concerns related to Covid-19 with the hope of rescheduling it later this fall.  PAL anticipates announcing the adult 2020 Male and Female Leaders of the Year at the rescheduled event.

The Woman of the Year Finalists include:

  • Jessi Hans
  • Nicole Kennedy
  • Sue Rutherford

The Man of the Year Finalists include: 

  • Larry Gray
  • Scott Mascher
  • Clark Tenney

For 30 years Prescott Area Leadership has been dedicated to developing and inspiring individuals to contribute to the vitality and leadership of central Yavapai County through its adult and youth leadership development programs. 

PAL appreciates the support of all its participants and contributors.