Today: Jul 02 , 2020

Rattlers Tackle the Titans; 54-19

02 April 2018   Peter Garbow

Home record continues to be perfect.

Phoenix, Ariz. – The six-time world champion Arizona Rattlers (3-1) stayed perfect at home this season with a victory over the Cedar Rapids Titans by a score of 54-19 at Talking Stick Resort Arena in Phoenix, Arizona in front of 11,155 fans.

Arizona’s aerial assault was heavily featured for the first time this season.  Quarterback Jeff Ziemba completed 16 of his 22 passes (73 percent) for 172 yards and seven touchdowns. 

Three of Ziemba’s touchdowns went to Amos who caught four passes for 67 yards.  Miles also caught two touchdowns while also leading the team on the ground with 40 yards. 

“Jeff is getting better,” General Manager and Head Coach Kevin Guy said. “He’s starting to see the field better. He Understands the reads and communication is better. I think his leadership is getting stronger and that tells me he’s getting more comfortable with who he is.”

For the Titans, QB Jake Medlock completed 18 of 38 passes for 136 yards and a touchdown.  He also had 28 yards and a touchdown on the ground.

On defense for the Rattlers, Arkeith Brown had six tackles to go with three pass breakups and a game ending interception.  Chris McAllister had a pass breakup as well to go along with a sack.  He also caught a touchdown pass in the game.

Defensive back Daniel Lindsey led the way for Cedar Rapids with six tackles.  Ricarlo Bell also had a big game with four tackles, two for a loss, a sack and a forced fumble.

“We’re not going to be crowned champs after five games,” said Guy. “We still have a lot of work to do, but I’m very happy with we played tonight and the effort we got from everybody.”

The Rattlers struck first with an 11-yard touchdown pass from Ziemba to WR Jarrod Harrington.  The PAT from K Sawyer Petre was good.

Arizona unsuccessfully attempted an onside kick, which led to a five-yard touchdown run by RB Tyler Thomas of Cedar Rapids to tie the game.

The Rattlers would score on the very next play from scrimmage from a 32-yard touchdown pass from Ziemba, this time to WR Anthony Amos. 

The Titans pull within eight, when QB Medlock would complete a pass in the corner of the end zone that sent WR Connor Hollenbeck over the wall for six.  The PAT from K Michael Georgetti was no good.

On their next drive, the Titans would drive the length of the field, but would come up short on fourth and two from the Rattlers 16-yard line.  Two plays later, Ziemba would throw another touchdown pass to Amos, this one was from 23 yards.

Amos would receive his third touchdown catch of the game from Ziemba with no time remaining in the half.  The PAT was no good, and the Rattlers entered halftime with a 27-13 lead.

Arizona wasted no time getting back on the board in the second half with a pair of touchdown passes from Ziemba to WR Jamal Miles. The first a six-yard pass, the second was eight yards.

The Titans would finally get back on the board early in the fourth off a one-yard rush by Medlock. Cedar Rapids went for two but was denied.

The Rattlers responded with another touchdown pass by Ziemba, this time to defensive end Chris McAllister.  After a four-and-out by the Titans, Arizona would get their first rushing touchdown of the game, a four-yard run by WR Dezmon Epps.

The Rattlers now head into their second bye week of the season. They will then travel to Sioux Falls Saturday, April 14th, to face the Storm for the second and final time in the 2018 regular season. Arizona defeated the Storm by a score of 39-33 in Phoenix back in week one.  The last time the Rattlers traveled to Sioux Falls as the 2017 United Bowl, where Arizona won 50-41. That game will kick off at 5:05 p.m. PDT at the Denny Sanford Premiere Center in Sioux Falls, and will be streamed on YouTube Live.

About the Arizona Rattlers

The Arizona Rattlers were founded in 1992, and are proud members and current champions of the Indoor Football League (IFL). The Rattlers spent 24 seasons in the Arena Football League (AFL), and in that time made ten appearances in the ArenaBowl, winning in 2014, 2013, 2012, 1997 and 1994.  They also won the United Bowl in 2017. For tickets, call 602-514-TDTD (8383), or visit